Grants Award Ceremony

EMF celebrated the recipients of EMF’s latest Queensland Research Program grant rounds at a function in Brisbane on Wednesday, 22nd February.

This event is an annual fixture for EMF, providing the EMF Board with an opportunity to publically congratulate the recent grant recipients from our Queensland Research Program as well as celebrate the ground-breaking research outcomes from this Program.

EMF’s Queensland Research Program is fully funded by the Queensland Government and we were privileged to have as our special guest , the Member for Nudgee, Leanne Linard MP, we attended on behalf of the Queensland Minster for Health and the Minister for Ambulance Services, Cameron Dick MP.

Ms Linard is Chair of the Health, Communities, Disability Services and Domestic Family Violence Prevention Committee.

Also speaking at the event were three emergency medicine researchers, and recipients of previous EMF grants: Dr Alexandra Markwell, Associate Professor Julia Crilly and Associate Professor Doug Morel.

At the event, EMF awarded 20 research grants totalling $1,266,626 in funding during the last two grant rounds. Today’s successful recipients were selected from 49 grant applications, requesting $4.7 million. This was the highest number of grant applications ever received by EMF.

EMF Chair, Associate Professor Sally McCarthy said the EMF Board was particularly delighted to see an increase from first-time applicants as well as the number of applications from research teams based in regional and rural emergency departments.

“Half of the funding was awarded to hospitals in the Gold Coast HHS, followed by grants to The Townsville Hospital. For the first time, we awarded grants to the Toowoomba Hospital, Mt Isa Hospital, Rockhampton Hospital and Logan Hospital,” said A/Prof McCarthy.

Scroll down for more information on grant recipients and photos from the event.

Pictured above: Prof John Fraser (accepting award on behalf of Prof Louise Cullen), Dr Don Campbell, Dr Shane George, Leane Linard MP, A/Prof Gerben Keijzers, A/Prof Sally McCarthy, Dr Shane Martin, Dr Rina Savage, Dr Gary Mitchell and Dr Erik Wood

Grant award recipients:

Principal investigator Project title Site Amount ($)
1 Dr Gary Mitchell Diagnosis of Acute Coronary Occlusion in patients with a Ventricular Paced Rhythm Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital 16,866
2 Dr Richard Pellatt Effect of Buddy Taping vs Plaster in Boxer’s Fractures (5thMC) –Buddy Study Gold Coast University Hospital 17,425
3 Dr Amy Archer-Jones Will a replicable ultrasound training intervention improve intravenous cannulation processes? Gold Coast University Hospital 22,541
4 Dr Rina Savage Prescribing patterns and communication for oxycodone on ED discharge Royal Brisbane & Women’s Hospital 34,955
5 Dr Sangeeth Mohan Carotid Doppler Ultrasound with Passive Leg Raise for fluid responsiveness Logan Hospital 5,150
Staff Specialist
6 Dr Jacob Crosdale Head and Neck Trauma Transfers for Scanning Toowoomba Hospital 8,620
7 Dr Sheree Conroy Patients transfers from rural hospitals – are we getting it right? Toowoomba Hospital 5,940
8 Dr Mark Scott The Value of Avoiding the Pain of IV Catheter Failure Caboolture Hospital 30,550
9 Dr Ogilvie Thom Link between clinical errors and emergency shift patterns? Nambour Hospital 19,796
10 Dr Shane George Is prednisolone an effective treatment for Bell’s Palsy in children? Gold Coast University Hospital 68,179
11 Dr Luke Burman Ketamine versus Propofol in sedation of psychiatric patients requiring retrieval The Townsville Hospital $8,400
12 Dr Geoffrey Rofe Evaluating rates of skin colonisation with MRSA or Group A Streptococci Mt Isa Hospital 68,224
13 Dr Denise Blake First aid oxygen treatment of divers with decompression sickness The Townsville Hospital 30,003
14 Dr Shane Martin A brief psychological intervention to promote recovery after mild TBI Ipswich Hospital 69,657
15 Dr Erik Wood Propofol on Trial for Headaches in the Emergency Department setting Redcliffe Hospital 7,860
16 Dr Don Campbell FEISTY – Fibrinogen Early In Severe Trauma studY Gold Coast University Hospital 292,937
17 Prof Louise Cullen Too much of a good thing; Does fluid resuscitation worsen septic shock? Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital 77,233
18 Dr Shane George Kids THRIVE study: preventing low oxygen levels during emergency intubation in children. Gold Coast University Hospital 282,290
19 Dr Mark Edwards A data linkage and patient outcome study of aeromedical retrieval services in Central Queensland Rockhampton 50,000
Research Scholarship
20 Dr Jeremy Furyk Management of Paediatric Status Epilepticus in Australia and New Zealand The Townsville Hospital 150,000
       TOTAL 1,266,626  


One Quarter founders, Mr Spencer Hayward, Mr Dhruv Goel and Mr Zachary Hayward with Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital’s Dr Alex Markwell, Ms Susan Cox and Ms Angela O’Malia


Member for Nudgee, Leanne Linard MP

Members of the EMF Research Support Network, Ms Sharleen Young, Ms Tegwen Howell, Mr Richard Henshaw, Dr Julia Hocking and Ms Kelly Foster

Grant recipient, Dr Shane Martin with members of the research team: Dr Simon Smith, Dr Shannon Edmed and Prof Justin Kenardy


The EMF Board: Mr Jason Currie, A/Prof Ed Oakley, Dr John Wakefield, A/Prof Sally McCarthy, Dr Peter Isdale AM, Dr David Spain and Dr Michael Sinnott

Ms Champika Pattullo, Dr Gary Mitchell, Ms Caitlin Lock and Dr Rina Savage

Ms Tracey Hawkins, Dr Jaimi Greenslade and Dr Shane Martin


Transforming Emergency Healthcare

EMF funding is improving emergency care for the elderly

Trauma: better treatment for severe bleeding

Applying for a grant? Make use of our application guidelines, SmartyGrants guide, application templates and other resources to help make the process easier.


Researcher support tools

2022 – 2023 Annual Report now available online

View Online
CONTACT US +61 7 3720 5700 Suite 1B, Terraces, 19 Lang Parade, Milton Qld 4064